Full Body Shudder Playlist

Okay, we know Richard Armitage is in Toronto to do Hannibal and I normally do a playlist and if you haven’t read my sidewinder Obscura’s funkadelic playlist from today you should totally go do that because it’s far more danceable than this is going to be, guaranteed. I’m not looking forward to this one, I have to tell you, because I’m not really a fan of death metal at all and that’s about all I could think of while contemplating this installment of the playlist. I’m not squeamish…okay, yes I am, I’m a total wimp. I’m going to be watching it but through my fingers and while clutching my husband’s arm and I’ll be sleeping with the lights on for a while. Ready?

So last week Mr. Armitage Tweeted something that I cannot get to embed no matter what I do (you can find it here). It was this bit from Red Dragon:

‘You see me now, Yes

That’s how you feel to see me

Do you feel me now? Yes.’

Now, for me that caused a particular earworm to burrow into my head and not just me but also the fabulous FaboLaktuko and the equally fabulous Fanny Thornton. This one, from the rock opera Tommy.

Richard Armitage should totally do a rock opera, shouldn’t he? Of course he should. He has a thing about Keith Moon, right? Keith Moon covered in groupies, at least. You gotta love The Who, who did it louder and harder than anyone else. Well, until Paul McCartney decided he was going to be louder and harder than they were. The Who released “I Can See For Miles” in the summer of 1968 while The Beatles were recording The Beatles and bragged about how loud and dirty it was and it’s just a bad idea to do that within earshot of McCartney because he’s going to have to show you up. Like this.

You know what “Helter Skelter” means, right? What you may not know about Charles Manson is that he was a musician. There’s been a rumor for fifty years that he auditioned for The Monkees, debunked by snopes.com here. If you didn’t click the link and decided to just take my word for it up there, you missed this interesting nugget: one of Charles Manson’s songs was recorded by the Beach Boys as the B-side to “Blue Birds Over the Mountain.” Manson’s song was called “Cease to Exist” but he gave it to Dennis Wilson, who kept the lyrics but reworked the music into “Never Learn Not to Love,”  and failed to give Manson a songwriting credit.

The Beach Boys aren’t the only ones who’ve covered Manson over the years but I’ve sufficiently creeped myself out so I think I’m going to stop there. If you’re interested in an actual discussion of the music and soundscape of Hannibal, check out this and this by the brilliant Tim Storhoff. I’m gonna go listen to some Chuck Berry. You all have a great night.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. obscura
    Jan 22, 2015 @ 19:33:58

    Do you know the the song that creeps me out like no other? “Wonderful! Wonderful!” by Johnny Mathis. I bet you know why…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Guylty
    Jan 22, 2015 @ 20:41:04

    See me, hear me, touch me, feel me – great choice, Jazz!!!! Actually live that song. And it puts me in a New Yorke state of mind ( which nowadays is connected to RA, for me) because I saw Tommy on Broadway years ago…
    Such a shame you haven’t got any Death Metal recommendations, though. So fitting… I left my recommendation re DM on Obscura’s blog: You suffer, by Napalm Death, preferably the live version. Deadly song!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. KellyDS
    Jan 22, 2015 @ 21:38:55

    oh! I was just wearing my “see me, feel me” Tommy shirt yesterday! no joke.

    I’ve not read “Red Dragon” and what I know of Francis Dolarhyde is only what fans have been posting lately, but I have “OffSpring” running through my head. anything from the Smash album really but particularly “bad habit”. I used to love listening to that song when I had to drive in big city rush hour traffic 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • jazzbaby1
      Jan 22, 2015 @ 22:33:01

      FD is a scary mofo. I have to say, though, that I’m really not getting the angst about RA playing him that I’ve seen. I don’t think Ralph Fiennes turned into a psycho killer and I don’t think his fandom freaked out about his playing the role. That might be a whole other blog post, though, if I think about it long enough.

      Like

      Reply

      • KellyDS
        Jan 23, 2015 @ 08:31:16

        from what I know of this character, it seems that he appears normal on the outside, correct? he’s trying to fight the temptation, has a girlfriend and all that, so it’s only when we see his thoughts/struggles that things will get freaky. thus the boy-nex-door look RA is sporting for the role. in terms of music, while he’s in a violent frenzy the faster-noisy stuff would work but I think the tone might be more calm, like an eerie calm. so I’d suggest something like Jim White for the playlist. maybe the song “a perfect day to chase tornadoes” for the cross-over factor 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • jazzbaby1
        Jan 23, 2015 @ 11:24:20

        I’ll be interested to see what they do with his mouth. FD has a cleft palate. Fiennes still looked amazing but he has one of those faces that’s beautiful no matter what’s marring it. Well, except the lack of nose with Voldemort. 🙂

        Like

      • LostinaGoodbook
        Jan 28, 2015 @ 12:16:46

        I hope they handle the cleft palate issue really carefully, also any speech defect they decide to give him. This is the one thing I question about this role. It would be wrong to demonise people with these medical conditions, and the Red Dragon book over-sensationalised it in my view (although perhaps I shouldn’t expect a sensitive treatment of disability issues in a thriller! Having said that, I thought Reba’s blindness was handled well.) But if FD’s issues are shown to come from society’s rejection, not from the conditions themselves, it could work.

        Liked by 2 people

      • jazzbaby1
        Jan 28, 2015 @ 19:44:00

        Thank you for the comment and welcome to the blog, LostinaGoodBook. I admit I read Red Dragon years ago so I can’t speak to the sensationalism but I do remember thinking that the memories of his childhood torment rang true.

        Like

  4. Servetus
    Jan 23, 2015 @ 22:46:45

    No, I did NOT know that Manson was a songwriter. Wow. But the Manson reference made me think of this: http://www.theguardian.com/world/2012/aug/10/manson-family-member-my-dad

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. obscura
    Jan 25, 2015 @ 01:51:09

    IDK if you have to go all the way into the really frenzied death metal, but here’s a couple from the fringe (yes I know…decided preference for Metallica…I know their corpus and I’m too lazy to dig)

    Cover of the Misfit’s “Die, Die My Darling”

    I really like “King Nothing” some crunchy guitars, but also interesting lyrics (which always sound malevolent from James Hetfield)

    “King Nothing”

    Wish I may
    Wish I might
    Have this I wish tonight
    Are you satisfied?

    Dig for gold
    Dig for fame
    You dig to make your name
    Are you pacified?

    All the wants you waste
    All the things you’ve chased

    *And it all crashes down
    And you break your crown
    And you point your finger
    But there’s no one around

    **Just want one thing
    Just to play the king
    But the castle crumbled
    And you’ve left with just a name

    Where’s your crown?
    King nothing***

    Hard and cold
    Bought and sold
    A heart as hard as gold
    Are you satisfied

    Wish I might
    Wish I may
    You wish your life away
    Are you pacified

    All the wants you waste
    All the things you’ve chased

    [*–*** Repeat]

    I wish I may
    I wish I might
    Have this wish I wish tonight

    I want that star
    i want it now
    I want it all and i don’t care how

    Careful what you wish
    Careful what you say
    Careful what you wish
    You may regret it

    Careful what you wish
    You just might get it

    Then it all crashes down
    And you break your crown
    And you point your finger
    But there’s no one around

    [*–*** Repeat]

    [** Repeat]

    Nothin’
    No, you’re just nothin’
    Where’s your crown, King Nothing?
    No, you’re just nothin’
    Absolutely nothin’

    *goosebumps*

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

