Look! It’s Elvis! Or, Yes I Am Totally Cheating

Okay, Guylty issued this awesome new challenge last week and most of the participating bloggers have been posting daily and I swear I intended to do that but then I didn’t and now I’m cheating by answering all the questions at once. Yes, this is going to be long because there are fifteen questions so make a snack or something, I’ll wait. Ready?

If you haven’t run into this before, this is what Guylty came up with. I know she intended introspection but I’m not planning on going too deep here because, well, have ya met me?

blog-intro-challenge

 

1. What made you start blogging? Encouragement from Judiang and pi mostly. Oh, and Servetus because she had to Google Soundgarden and I decided that was wrong. It started out as a music and general goofiness blog.

2. The significance of your blog’s name? I am funky, my favorite color is blue, and the original blog layout had a graphic of dandelions blowing in the wind, which reminded me of Bloom County.  

3. What’s your (usual) blogging process? I start snickering about something and then start writing in my head. When I have a paragraph or two I write it down. Sometimes I publish it and sometimes I don’t.

4. What’s your favorite post? Um…I think it’s still the Magic 8 Ball one, Signs Point To Oh Hell No

5.  Which post got the most views? The Many Loves of Lucas — What Were The Writers Thinking?

6. Which post continues to give? A Moron In A Tizzy, which I wrote about Joan Jett in late fall 2013. It sat unread and uncommented upon because, well, it wasn’t about RA. A week or so later something happened that really threw me. While I was dealing with the emotional fallout from that thing, an anonymous commenter left a very kind note on my Jett post. I don’t know what moved that commenter to encourage me at that moment but I needed it more than I can express. Anonymous, if you’re reading this, thank you. You have no idea what those few words meant to me right then.

7.  Which post has the most comments? Not sure and don’t feel like looking.

8. Which post was the most difficult to write? In My Life, which is about the way my grief for my mother has changed over the years.

9. Which post do you regret writing? At this moment, none of them. Some are definitely crap but I at least learned something from each one.

10. What do you find most difficult or challenging about blogging? Self-doubt, same as with other writing.

11. Your favorite aspect of blogging? Not the pay, for sure. 🙂 Um, just hanging out with you all mostly.

12. How — if at all — has blogging changed your life? It’s given me a place to put all of those ridiculous bits of trivia that have been rattling around my pea brain.

13. What have you learned from blogging? That I remember more about The Chicago Manual of Style than I thought I did.

14. Any plans for your blogging future? Write more stuff. Be funny sometimes.

15. Any blogging role models? I don’t know if I’d say role model. I learn from everybody I read, though, so everyone? Everyone is good.

Okay, so, on that note, I’m spinning some Bangles. You all have a great night.

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Servetus
    Jun 06, 2015 @ 18:31:16

    you should have spun some Soundgarden, lol. I’ve learned a lot from you over the years, and not only or most significantly about popular music.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. richardtreehouse
    Jun 06, 2015 @ 20:10:42

    Loved the Bangles! You are my music guru as it’s a weak point in my education. I also love your humor, your kindness and I enjoyed learning a little bit more about you. I’m always up for discussing the lame choices they made for Lucas especially in Season 9. I remember the Magic 8 Ball post (and loved it) but I wasn’t commenting back then. Wow, I just realized I totally skipped number 8 (hmmm, something I don’t want to think about?) I’ll go back and read it but I’m going to go ahead and post this comment.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. armitagebesotted
    Jul 07, 2015 @ 02:53:35

    My parents both made it into their 80s and I was in my 50s when they died, so, ostensibly, we have nothing in common on that score, and yet…I bawled over no. 8. The most specifically personal is, amazingly, often the most “universal,” and this essay hits all the chords. I missed it upon publication, because I wasn’t yet an RA fan in 2011. Thank you for sharing it again by reviving it now.

    But my favorite of all your replies is no. 7 — followed closely by no. 13. Don’t know if I’ve ever commented, but I’ve been reading your blog for a few years, and may I say: I LOVE YOUR IRREVERENCE AND YOUR WIT.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

